info@cabinetsales.com
+509 2815-1500

Timeline

Some of the highlights of our history

1907- The firm foundation

It was in 1907 that Me Paul Salès, a young ambitious and visionary lawyer created The Cabinet Salès law firm in Haiti. Magistrate in the Parquet de Port au Port-au-Prince and subsequently the Government deputy Commissioner in 1910, he will ultimately develop over the years a very sought after and recognized expertise in the intellectual property field of law, a hitherto unexplored domain in Haiti. The impressive journey of this pioneer speaks volumes about the origins and the values of a company which is now in its fourth generation.

1937- Cabinet Destouches and Salès

Following the death of Paul Salès in 1935, his son Jean P. Salès, newly graduate from law school takes over his father’s law firm. However the 19 years old is too young to take the oath, he is assisted by his uncle Me Yves Destouches who became Managing partner of the firm. As a result to this change of direction, the firm takes the name of firm Destouches and Salès until the death of Me Destouches in 1953.

1953- Cabinet Jean P. Salès

The death of Me Destouches in 1953 will make Jean P. Salès the unique associate of the firm that now bears his name and whose main field of practice remains the intellectual property. With time and the arrival of other important actors, the firm will invest in new fields of practice such as Labor law and Business law.

1975- Merger of Liautaud and Salès law firm

In 1975, the Liautaud law firm led by the renowned jurist Me Pierre Liautaud, formerly Dean of the law Faculty of Port-au-Prince merged with the Cabinet Salès. Most of Me Liautaud dossiers are transferred to the Salès Office which benefits greatly from this merger and manage to gain even more notoriety.

 

1978- Salès firm welcomes a new partner

The arrival in 1978 of Jean Frédéric Salès a young Labor Law lawyer son of Jean P. Salès, will contribute greatly to the current growth and success of the firm. Passionate about the world of Business and finance, Jean Frédéric Salès brings new impetus to the company by offering a new expertise in Labor law and Business law.

It is important to emphasize that the socio-economic context of the time greatly favors the addition of these new fields of expertise to the service menu offer by the firm. Meanwhile Haiti enters a new economic era marked by the creation of new economic blocks and the World Trade Organization. Haiti’s desire to integrate international organizations such as the CARICOM and the net increase in economic exchanges and foreign investment encouraged Haitian investors and Businessmen to seek legal advice in order to consolidate their businesses and to integrate the international market.

Moving at the pace of these changes, the firm renamed Cabinet Salès in 1978, will quickly position itself as a reference in intellectual property, Business law and Labor law. Combining international level skills to an extensive local experience, it responded to the needs of a clientele composed equally of big multinational and international companies and small and medium local enterprises.

2006- Moving from 16th Eden Street

After several decades spent in 16th Eden Street at the heart of the Business district of downtown Port – au-Prince, Cabinet Salès moved its offices to Pétion-Ville in October 2006. A whole new neighborhood and a new found vitality marked this new era of change and innovation for the then almost century-old firm. If the gates of Eden Street participated in the narrative of the many journeys that began at that address, they remain just as symbolic in the mind of the clients always reassured to find in these premises, assistance and sought after expertise. An old Gingerbread type House built in 1929 by the engineer Alphonse Qualo and located at the corner of Geffrard and Chavannes Street in Pétion-Ville was chosen to house the new offices of the firm. Completely renovated and enlarged, the building retains its charm of yesteryear, making it an attractive element of the architectural heritage of Pétion-Ville admired so much by the tourists.

2007- Salès firm celebrates 100 years of existence

To celebrate the firm centennial, several activities are organized to remind the value and the importance of the Cabinet Salès firm as a legal institution in Haiti, but above all, to thank all of those who from near and far have contributed to its success over the years. In the presence of many guests, members of the Salès family evoked the past to speak of their vision and the future of this Centennial firm, nonetheless increasingly young and focused on modernity. An article published in “le Nouvelliste” at the same time (the Salès Office is 100 years old) testifies to the impressive legacy of each of the builders of this firm.

2012-A new branch is opened in Cap-Haïtien

FrenchUSASpain

info@cabinetsales.com
+509 2815-1500

Chronologie

Quelques uns des moments forts de notre histoire

1907- Fondation du Cabinet

C’est en 1907 que Me Paul Salès, jeune avocat ambitieux et visionnaire crée en Haïti le Cabinet Salès. Magistrat au Parquet de Port-au-Prince puis Substitut du Commissaire du Gouvernement en 1910, il développera au fil des ans une expertise recherchée et reconnue en propriété intellectuelle, un domaine jusque là inexploré en Haïti. Le parcours impressionnant de ce bâtisseur en dit long sur les origines et les valeurs d’une entreprise qui en est aujourd’hui à sa quatrième génération.

1937- Cabinet Destouches et Salès

Suite au décès de Paul Salès en 1935, son fils Jean P. Salès, jeune diplômé en droit prend la relève du Cabinet. Alors âgé de 19 ans et trop jeune pour prêter serment, il est secondé par son oncle Me Yves Destouches qui devient alors associé principal de la firme. Conséquemment à ce changement de direction, la firme prend le nom de Cabinet Destouches et Salès jusqu’au décès en 1953 de Me Destouches.

1953- Cabinet Jean P. Salès

Le décès de Me Destouches en 1953 fera de Jean P. Salès l’unique associé de la firme qui porte désormais son nom et dont le principal champ de pratique demeure la propriété intellectuelle. Avec le temps et l’arrivée d’autres acteurs importants, le cabinet va s’investir dans de nouveaux champs de pratique tel que le droit du travail et le droit des affaires.

1975- Fusion des Cabinets Liautaud et Salès

En 1975, le Cabinet Liautaud dirigé par le juriste de renom Me Pierre Liautaud, anciennement doyen de la Faculté de droit de Port-au-Prince, fusionne avec le Cabinet Salès.  La plupart des dossiers de Me Liautaud sont transférés au Cabinet Salès qui profite de cette fusion pour assoir de plus en plus sa notoriété. 

 

1978- Le Cabinet Salès accueille un nouvel associé

L’arrivée en 1978 de Jean Frédéric Salès, jeune avocat spécialisé en droit du travail, fils de Jean P. Salès, va contribuer grandement à l’essor et au succès de la firme. Féru du monde des affaires et de la finance, Jean Frédéric Salès amène un souffle nouveau à l’entreprise en offrant une expertise nouvelle en droit du travail et en droit des affaires.

Il importe de souligner que le contexte socio-économique de l’époque favorise grandement l’ajout de ce nouveau champs d’expertise à l’offre de service du Cabinet.  Haïti entre en plein dans une nouvelle ère économique marquée par la création de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce et de nouveaux blocs économiques. La volonté d’intégrer des organismes internationaux tels la CARICOM et de multiplier par le fait même les échanges économiques et les investissements étrangers encourage les investisseurs et hommes d’affaires haïtiens à chercher conseil afin de consolider leurs entreprises et d’intégrer le marché international.

Évoluant au rythme de ces changements, la firme qui porte en 1978 le nom de Cabinet Salès, va s’imposer rapidement comme une référence en matière de propriété intellectuelle, de droit des affaires et de droit du travail. Alliant des compétences de niveau internationale à un savoir faire locale répandu, il répond aux besoins d’une clientèle composée autant de grandes entreprises multinationales et internationale que de petite et moyennes entreprises locales.

2006- Déménagement du 16 de la rue Eden

Après plusieurs décennies passées au 16 de la rue Eden situé au cœur du quartier des affaires du centre-ville de Port-au-Prince, le Cabinet Salès déménage ses bureaux à Pétion-Ville en octobre 2006. Un tout nouveau quartier, une vitalité inspirante qui marque une ère de changement et d’innovation pour la firme alors presque centenaire. Si les grandes portes de la rue Eden participent au récit des nombreux parcours entamés à son adresse, elles demeurent tout aussi symboliques dans l’esprit de la clientèle toujours rassurée de trouver en ces lieux, l’assistance et l’expertise recherchées. Une ancienne maison de type Gingerbread construite en 1929 par l’ingénieur Alphonse Qualo et située à l’angle des rues Geffrard et Chavannes à Pétion-Ville est choisie pour abriter les nouveaux bureaux de la firme. Entièrement rénové et agrandi, l’édifice conserve son cachet ancestral, ce qui en fait un élément attractif du patrimoine architectural de Pétion-Ville tant admiré par les touristes.

2007- Le Cabinet Salès célèbre 100 ans d'existence

Pour célébrer le centenaire de la firme, plusieurs activités sont organisées afin de rappeler la valeur et l’importance du Cabinet Salès en tant qu’institution légale en Haïti, mais surtout afin de remercier tous ceux et celles qui de près ou de loin ont contribué à son succès au fil des ans. En présence de nombreux invités, les membres de la famille Salès évoquent le passé pour mieux parler de leur vision et de l’avenir de ce Cabinet centenaire, mais toujours plus jeune et axé sur la modernité. Un article paru dans le Nouvelliste à la même époque (le Cabinet Salès a 100 ans) témoigne du parcours impressionnant de chacun des bâtisseurs de cette firme.

2012-Une nouvelle succursale est inaugurée au Cap-Haïtien

FrenchUSASpain